Page 2 of 22 <12345>Last »
Topic Options
#1140977 - 03/30/06 09:34 PM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: Ringfinger]
scheradon Offline
FACT if I stop posting, trillions and trillions of transistors would be out of work.

Loc: Back Home Finally!
This may explain what happened to me. I had a 1980 Pittsburg Steelers unopened beer can that I had just stored on my bookshelf for years, then after I got my fireproof safe, I put it in there with some other valuables including one raw comic. As bad luck would have it, I discovered the can possibly due to slight rust along the seam, split slightly open and leaked the contents. My one comic was the only thing to get affected by the leakage. Lessen quickly learned there.

#1140978 - 03/30/06 09:40 PM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: scheradon]
Ares Offline

FORUM CRIER

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Toronto, Canada
Quote:

This may explain what happened to me. I had a 1980 Pittsburg Steelers unopened beer can that I had just stored on my bookshelf for years, then after I got my fireproof safe, I put it in there with some other valuables including one raw comic. As bad luck would have it, I discovered the can possibly due to slight rust along the seam, split slightly open and leaked the contents. My one comic was the only thing to get affected by the leakage. Lessen quickly learned there.

Its was the Iron man issue where Tony becomes an alcoholic wasnt it

#1140979 - 03/30/06 10:01 PM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safes [Re: sborock]
skybolt Offline
Pedigreed

Loc: Chicago, IL
Steve,

Have any collectors had problems with storing their CGC graded books inside safety deposit boxes at banks?