• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

PROBATION DISCUSSIONS
21 21

36,203 posts in this topic

As a noob who has sold a few things here (thank you for trusting me, buyers - I don't take it for granted), just wanted to give my 2c (which I'm sure are only worth 1 cent, because again, I'm a noob). In general, at an isolated transaction level I think market forces work pretty well for controlling these things (e.g., if a noob seller posts a sales thread and no one buys from him/her, problem is solved). However, as a mechanism to discourage the volume of new members who come here only to try a quick sale and have no intentions of sticking around and becoming a part of the ongoing community, I think that having some prerequisite in place for selling is not a bad idea - not sure post count is the way to go, though, as others have pointed out. It's just too easy to rapidly post these guys :banana: (thumbs u all over the place to inflate the post count.