Page 1 of 3 123>
Topic Options
#596664 - 11/08/04 12:39 AM 1776 Continental Currency coin
StumpedinWa Offline
Just got here

Greetings everyone. This is my first post so please try not to flame or laugh at me to hard. I have read other posts about these coins and still have questions about the one that I posess. My father in law who is not in his late 60's got 5 of these coins from his great grandmother. Four of the five were in her jewlery box and one was always kept in her safety deposit box at the bank. That is what it was located upon her death. I believe that the 4 that were in her jewlery box are the replicas that were produced. Although the on in the safety deposit box is different. There is a definate weight difference in it. Most of the surface is still crisp.

What are some dead give away signs that this is real or not. Please keep in mind that I am very new to this so if anyone replys please try and keep it in laymans terms.

Any help would be appreciated. My digital camera is giving me a little attitude in focusing on the coin. I will try and get some clear pictures taken later this week. Then I can email them to anyone who might know more about this then myself.

#596665 - 11/08/04 12:54 AM Re: 1776 Continental Currency coin [Re: StumpedinWa]
truthteller Offline
Instigator
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: The one true undisputed Truth
Greetings,