Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#457571 - 06/02/04 12:38 AM 1962 Topps Facotry Set
alansz Offline
Just got here

I am new to this site so please excuse my ignorance. I am 24 I used to collect cards about 12 years ago. I have many new cards that dont seem to be worth much these days however I inherited a great deal of older cards These in clude the complete set of 1962 topps. The set came in five blue boxes from Topps each box holds its proportion of cards. In additon I have not had them graded, as I said I am new to this, and do not even understand how the process works, however I had put them all in protectors whn I found them about13 years ago and they all look brand new. Allmost all have 4 sharp corners with not whiting , which I hear is rare on this set due to the wood grain. I have read some boards, and it seems this may be a "display set" or a "presentation set" does anyone know how I can find out, who handles these kinds of things. I may be in the market to sell the set or a few cards depending on the valuation, I need to pay for school

#457572 - 06/02/04 07:10 AM Re: 1962 Topps Facotry Set [Re: alansz]
estang Offline
(S)uper Collector

I think you've come to the right place to learn more. Specifically, "Mr. 62 Topps" is a member here and has a SGC 1962 registered set that is top-notch --- you should check it out and compare it to what you have.

I've heard of Topps creating presentation sets for employees or as gifts. I recall that someone said they may be slightly smaller cards than what was put into wax packs.

My advice is that if you're looking to sell the set for whatever reason that the market is pretty ripe right now for this era, as many that grew up fromt that time are likely in their high-salary years in life --- trying to buy back childhood.