Page 1 of 2 12>
Topic Options
#1334450 - 08/25/06 02:58 AM What is the GSA hoard?
dazedandconfused Offline
Just got here

I'm new, obviously. Can you tell me what I would be expected to pay for a gold, 1886 $5 Liberty coin in an NCS slab marked only "GENUINE"? I'm told it is from the GSA Hoard but I don't know what that means. Thank you very much.

#1334451 - 08/25/06 03:06 AM Re: What is the GSA hoard? [Re: dazedandconfused]
Bruceswar Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Mesquite, Tx
GSA referrs to a government release of Morgan Dollars. Mainly CC(Carson City, The Mint) Coins but some other mints as well. Also Ikes came out in the same type holders. I was not aware of any gold coming out in the hoard. The fact it is NCS holder means there is a problem with the coin. It is real, but it is problem coin. If you really want the coin then I would not pay much over spot for it. 1880 is a common date as well. Good luck and ask away. Welcome as well!

#1334452 - 08/25/06 11:18 AM Re: What is the GSA hoard? [Re: Bruceswar]
dazedandconfused Offline
Just got here

Thank you so much for answering my question, I appreciate it very much. Now my question is what do you mean by "i wouldn't pay much over spot" for it? What is the 'spot' price and where will I find it? I see I have MUCH to learn. Thanks again. p.s. The coin is 1886 $5 gold Liberty, not 1880. Would that make any difference in your previous answer? Thanks.

#1334453 - 08/25/06 11:25 AM Re: What is the GSA hoard? [Re: dazedandconfused]
truthteller Offline
Instigator
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: The one true undisputed Truth
Quote:

Thank you so much for answering my question, I appreciate it very much. Now my question is what do you mean by "i wouldn't pay much over spot" for it? What is the 'spot' price and where will I find it? I see I have MUCH to learn. Thanks again. p.s. The coin is 1886 $5 gold Liberty, not 1880. Would that make any difference in your previous answer? Thanks.